About us
Brief Introduction
President Speech
   Location: Home > About us > Brief Introduction
Brief Introduction
Update time: 12/04/2013
Text Size: A A A

The Nanjing Branch is an administrative organ of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). The branch coordinates activities of CAS research institutes in Jiangsu Province and manages cooperation between the academy and Jiangsu and Jiangxi provinces. It was formally established in 1978 based on roots extending back to 1950.  

The Nanjing Branch oversees nine institutions, namely, the Purple Mountain Observatory, the Nanjing Institute of Geology and Paleontology, the Nanjing Institute of Soil Science, the Nanjing Institute of Geography and Limnology, the Nanjing Institute of Astronomical Optics and Technology, the Suzhou Institute of Nano-tech and Nano-bionics, the Suzhou Institute of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, the Nanjing Astronomical Instruments Company and the Institute of Botany of Jiangsu Province and CAS. 

The institutes under the Nanjing Branch boast three state key laboratories, one national engineering laboratory, six CAS key laboratories (including those under construction), and 16 field observatory stations, including 5 national key observatory stations. After years of development, these institutes have achieved important research results in 20 fields and 30 specialties.

As of the end of 2014, the Nanjing Branch had more than 2,000 personnel,including 1,588 scientists and technicians, of whom 334 are professor-level researchers and 439 are associate professor-level researchers. Within the Nanjing Branch are eight CAS members. In addition, 36 individuals are supported by the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars; 24 were recruited through the National Thousand Talent Program; 109 through the “333 Project,” a talent recruitment program in Jiangsu Province; 16 through the New Century Talent Program; and 105 through the CAS Hundred Talent Program,

The Nanjing Branch administers 45 master programs and 29 Ph.D. programs. As of 2014, enrollment was 1,322, of which 491 were Ph.D. students.

The Nanjing Branch coordinates cooperation between its institutes and Jiangsu and Jiangxi provinces. As of the end of 2014, the branch had signed comprehensive science and technology cooperation agreements with 13 provincial cities in Jiangsu, covering all cities and counties in the province and nearly all the research institutes under the Nanjing Branch. The branch has overseen the formation of the following centers jointly established by CAS and local governments: the CAS Networking R&D Center and the CAS Energy Research Center as well as technology transfer centers in Suzhou, Yangzhou, Taizhou, Changzhou and Nanjing. The latter centers bring together nearly 1,600 personnel devoted to commercializing CAS technological innovations. So far, the centers have incubated more than 50 high-tech enterprises. In addition, the Nanjing Branch is home to 175 R&D units constructed by local government, enterprises, universities and CAS. In 2014, Nanjing Branch units carried out more than 1,200 cooperative projects with local enterprises. Total sales revenue attributable to these projects was 62.1 billion yuan.

The institutes under the Nanjing Branch publish more than 10 academic journals. Of these, Pedosphere is catalogued by SCI. It is the only English academic publication on soil science in China. The Chinese Astronomy and Astrophysics is catalogued by SCIE.




Address: 39 East Beijing Road,  Nanjing 210008, P. R. China, Tel.: 025-57716939, E-mail: office@njbas.ac.cn
Nanjing Branch of Chinese Academy of Sciences, All Rights Reserved.